Pagan Fiction Recommendations

Since pages don’t work EXACTLY like posts, check out my Pagan Fiction Recomendations.

Because I love Sci Fi and Fantasy, and speculative fiction is where my muscles of comprehension and possibility are stretched. I love stories that are familiar to me, in spiritual-worldview ways, and the more I look the more I find the theme of “Western Christian Imperialism Didn’t Happen So Much” where an alternate world starts from there. I find those stories immensely inspiring in my reconstruction.

The page in my sidebar will be a perpetually growing list. Send me your favorites!

One thought on “Pagan Fiction Recommendations

  1. AUGH NO my reading list it is already too long! I have a lot of feelings for ‘The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms” and the Young Wizards novels, (“So You Want to Be A Wizard” has been on my Favorite Books Ever list since I was very young)

    Here are some suggested additions which I have found personally meaningful:

    Lois McMaster Bujold: “The Curse of Chalion,” and “Paladin of Souls” and presumably the 3rd one set in that world. I’ve read the first 2 novels, and found they do an eerily accurate job of depicting some of what it is like to be god-bothered, both in terms of how communication can happen, and how the mortals involved feel about it all. Some of the cosmology in these books is really exquisitely beautiful, too. The gods are not embodied beings, and the way they interact with the mortal world . . . all I can say is, if the author has no direct spirit experience herself, she must surely know people who do. They are just plain fun reads, too.

    Steven Erickson’s Malazan Empire novels. I can’t say enough good things about them. They’re well-written, have engaging characters and plot, and lots of deep philosophical stuff in there, too. He and another man (Ian Esslemont, who has written some other novels set in the same world, but without the same level of, er, craft) co-created the world and characters and intentionally did really interesting things with the standard fantasy tropes. I’ve read the whole series twice and it’s been immensely important to me. He brings up some interesting theological questions, too, like what happens when a deity’s worshipers are acting in a way that deity actually doesn’t approve of? The gods and god-level beings are very active players in the world, and there’s no simple black-and-white, good vs. evil. I read these before I became a polytheist, but I am having smirking memories now of the belligerence with which some of the mortal characters reacted to being pulled into divine plans. The biggest problem with this series is that it is BIG. Ten very large novels, but the 2nd is one of the most powerful and well-written books I’ve ever read. They’re pretty heavy in parts – there is a lot of battle and gruesome goings on, and he doesn’t spare characters. I don’t cry easily over character death or painful plots, but I cried a lot over these books. Ugh. Some day maybe I will reread these beasts and write up a bunch of stuff about how they’ve been Relevant to my own spiritual stuff; there’s just a lot in there.

Leave a Reply

